menu clear direct_eyes_menu direct_eyes_roundel_esp direct_eyes_roundel_ep shopping_basket arrow_back arrow_forward attach_file launch

Syllabus IV: Open Evening

Thursday, 12 April 2018
6.30 – 8pm

Interested in applying for Syllabus IV?

This informal event offers an opportunity to find out more as Eastside Projects’ Director Ruth Claxton introduces the programme and talks through how it has developed over the last three years, who is involved, how it works and what we are looking for in applications.

The Syllabus is a collaboratively produced alternative learning programme in its fourth year that supports ten artists across ten months. Starting in September 2018, the curriculum for Syllabus IV will be built around a series of six intensive gatherings, which the ten selected artists will collaboratively develop with curators and artists who work with the partner organisations, alongside two external Artistic Advisors – Sonya Dyer and Helen Nisbett. Syllabus IV participating artists will bring forward ideas to the programme and actively contribute to its design and delivery across the ten months.

The deadline for applications for Syllabus IV is 12 midnight, Monday 7 May. Interviews for The Syllabus will take place in the first week of June.

The individuals and organisations who will collaborate with the Syllabus IV artists, and be involved across the ten months, include Ruth Claxton, Eastside Projects; Melanie Keen, Stephanie Moran and Simina Neagu, Iniva; Laura Clarke, S1 Artspace; Nicola Wright and Jenny Cooper, Studio Voltaire; Vanessa Boni, Spike Island; John Eng Kiet Bloomfield and Chelsea Pettitt, Wysing Arts Centre.

Previous iterations of Syllabus have involved contributions from a wide range of artists, writers and curators and applicants to Syllabus IV will have the opportunity to access similar networks. Contributing practitioners have included Barby Asante, Ruth Beale, Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, Celine Condorelli, Nav Haq, Nadia Hebson, Anthea Hamilton, Andy Holden, Shama Khanna, Pil and Galia Kollectiv, Mark Leckey, Richard Long, Sofia Niazi, Katrina Palmer, Holly Pester, Rory Pilgrim, Rosalie Schweiker, Cally Spooner, Richard Wentworth, Jonathan P. Watts, Keith Wilson, DM Withers and Rehana Zaman. We’ve received additional input and support from John Akomfrah, Benedict Drew, Kathy Noble, Eddie Peake, Marinella Senatore, Yinka Shonibare and Mike Sperlinger and have arranged visits to Documenta Athens and Glasgow International. Artists Andy Holden, Milly Thompson, Jesse Darling, Harold Offeh and curator George Vasey have led the Syllabus as Artistic Advisors in previous years, engaging with and supporting participating artists over the course of the programme.

Find out more about Syllabus I, II and III, and how to apply for Syllabus IV HERE 

There will be similar drop in sessions across the country during April:

Thursday 12 April, 6.30pm–8pm: Iniva, Stuart Hall Library, 1 Rivington Pl, London

Saturday 14 April, 2–4pm: Twenty One, Unit 21 Pier Approach, Southend-on-Sea

Thursday 19 April, 6–8pm: Outpost, 10b Wensum Street, Norwich

Monday 23 April, 2–4pm: S1 Artspace, 21-24 South St, Sheffield S2 5QX

Tuesday 24 April, time 6.30–8pm: Spike Island, 133 Cumberland Road, Bristol, BS1 6UX